23rd July


Elite Racing

Mid-summer will again see Ilkley Cycling Club hosting an evening of town centre racing

Download the programme

Download the race programme here

Evening out

High speed entertainment. Award winning bar & BBQ and a terrific atmosphere


The circuit starts outside Bettys Café Tea Rooms on The Grove, right in Ilkley’s town centre. The bandstand area opposite will again host a bar and barbeque. After a 90° right-hand turn there is a 200m long climb up the Riddings Road ramp. After another right-hander, there is a long stretch of false flat along Albany Walk onto Parish Gyll Drive.

By this point, the gradient has eased although it is here where strong riders will really be able to press home an advantage. The top of the circuit is reached just before the end of Parish Gyll Drive, where the course drops sharply down Wilton Road. A very fast corner will sweep the riders onto Grove Road for an extremely rapid return to the bars, restaurants and shops along the finish straight on The Grove.

The circuit is a more compact version of the well known course used for the Otley Town Centre Races, sharing many of the same elements:

  • A climb away from the home straight
  • The road still rising around the back of the circuit
  • A fast downhill return to the home straight

The Ilkley circuit climbs 32 m on each 1.5 km lap.
The Otley circuit climbs 23 m on each 2.3 km lap.

Faire le métier

Do the job. Be professional. Always.


3:00 pm    Barriers dropped off around the circuit
4:00 pm    The Grove closed to traffic
4:45 pm    Circuit closure commences
5:25 pm    Full circuit is closed
5:45 pm    MAS Design under 16s race
6:25 pm    Ilkley C.C. Classic Race (cat.2.3.4 men & masters race)
7:20 pm    Ilkley Cinema Women's Grand Prix
8:20 pm    Lister Horsfall Men's Grand Prix
9:30 pm    Circuit re-opens (except The Grove)
9:35 pm    Prize presentation
10:15 pm    The Grove re-opens


Putting on an event like the Ilkley Cycle Races involves the support of so many people across the whole community. We particularly appreciate the co-operation of residents each year and it would be impossible to run the event without their support.

- for those on the circuit For those with homes on the circuit, during the afternoon & evening of Friday 23rd July, on-street parking will be suspended and we respectfully ask for your cooperation in keeping the circuit free from parked cars.

- for those in the circuit (Oakburn Rd, St James’ Rd, Ashburn Place, Parish Ghyll Road) For those with homes inside the circuit, a traffic management company will operate the road closures to ensure the safe running of the cycle races. Their traffic management operatives with radios will control traffic at the junction of Oakburn Road and Princess Road, and also at the junction of St. Margaret’s Terrace and Back Parish Ghyll Road to provide entry and exit routes for vehicles in-between the races. Please ensure that you use either of these junctions if you will be leaving or returning home during the duration of the event. Due to the safety considerations arising from the road layout, regrettably vehicles will not be able to access Parish Ghyll Road during the event.




We live for racing. We know what it means to win.


Under 14s

Open full results

2014 Euan Cameron (East Bradford CC)
2015 Samuel Watson (Chevin Trek)
2016 Joseph Pidcock (Chevin Trek)
2017 Max Poole (Bike Box Alan)
2018 Ben Partridge (Hetton Hawks CC)
2019 Harry Ellison (Shibden CC)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

2014 Ella Lazonby (Clifton CC)
2015 Lucy Naylor (Cycle Sport Pendle)
2016 Ava Oxley-Szilagyi (PH-MAS VCUK)
2017 Tilly Percy (Salt Ayre Cog Set)
2018 Hermione Pickering (Team Jadan Weldtite)
2019 Ella Jamieson (Clifton CC)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

Under 16s

Open full results

2014 Tom Pidcock (Aire Valley RT)
2015 Tom Pidcock (Speedflex Race Team)
2016 Dylan Westley (Chevin Trek)
2017 Max Rushby (Pedalsport Cycling Club)
2018 Joseph Pidcock (PH-MAS/Paul Milnes)
2019 Max Poole (Bike Box Alan)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

2014 Sophie Thackery (Paul Milnes Cycles)
2015 Ava Oxley-Szilagyi (PH-MAS VCUK)
2016 Georgia Ashworth (Cycle Sport Pendle)
2017 Amy Monkhouse (Team Jadan Weldtite)
2018 Madelaine Leech (Huddersfield Star Whs)
2019 Ella Jamieson (Clifton CC)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

Men's 3.4

Open full results

2015 Tom Pidcock (Speedflex Race Team)
2016 Thomas Denwood (Harrogate Nova CC)
2017 Samuel Watson (Chevin
2018 Joseph Pidcock (PH-MAS/Paul Milnes)
2019 Sam Dickinson 
2020 No Race (COVID-19)


Open full results

2014 Melissa Lowther (Matrix Fitness Vulpine)
2015 Henrietta Colborne (Team Jadan Weldtite)
2016 Rebecca Womersley (Drops)
2017 Annabel Simpson (Drops)
2018 Annabel Simpson (Drops)
2019 Emily Meakin (Independent Pedaler)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

Lister Horsfall GP

Open full results

2014 Alex Dalton (Squadra RT)
2015 Pete Williams (One Pro Cycling)
2016 Scott Thwaites (Bora–Argon 18)
2017 Tobyn Horton (Madison Genesis)
2018 Tom Moses (JLT Condor)
2019 Tom Moses (Madison Genesis)
2020 No Race (COVID-19)

Racing doesn't build character, it reveals character


32m of climbing on each 1.5km lap.

Everyday there's something that reminds me why I love this sport.

Bernard Hinault


Ilkley Cycling Club

Established 1896...
Re-established 2011

"Recreation to racing"

Ilkley Cycling Club has a strong and distinguished past and was founded in 1896. It is a community based club and a registered charity. Our motto is "recreation to racing" and we're proud to support all levels of local bike riders from beginners to experienced racing cyclists.

In less than three years, we became the largest cycling club in the country, and one of the largest community sports clubs, with over 1,000 members. In 2013, we were awarded “Sports and Recreation Club of the Year” and continue to proudly promote cycling for all.

Read More

Otley Cycle Races

First run in 1985

6 miles down the valley...

The Otley Town Centre Races are one of the most prestigious criteriums in the calendar, with past winners including Mark Cavendish, Jez Hunt, Jonny Clay, Chris Walker, Russ Downing and in 2011 and 2012, local star Scott Thwaites.

Otley is again hosting the opening round of the British Cycling Elite Circuit Race Series. This year's event will consist of the Pinsent Masons Otley Women’s GP, The Property Development Otley GP, The Chevin Cycles Classic Race, The MAS Design Super Prestige Youth Race (for under 16 riders) and the WGC Landscapes Lads and Lasses Bike Race (for under 14 riders).

Read More

1½ km circuit. The stage is set

..for a great evening of racing


Contact Information

97 Skipton Rd, Ilkley, LS29 9BJ
07801 256777
Ilkley Cycle Races

British Cycling Membership

Being a British Cycling member means lots of benefits however you ride and shows your support for the great work we do for all cyclists from the playground to the podium. As our membership grows, so does our ability to represent you as cycling's National Governing Body.

British Cycling membership details

Join the club

In joining Ilkley Cycling Club, you will get to meet and ride with hundreds of cyclists from Ilkley and the surrounding areas (although perhaps not all at once!). There is a regular programme of club rides, with Sunday and Thursday nights being our main focal points but there are lots of other opportunities to ride. Our Thursday post ride meetings are a great chance to have a chat over a drink, and to find out what developments there have been in the club.

Ilkley CC membership details

Created by - Copyright 2014